I Can Sew That: San Francisco Edition

It’s been a while since my last post, but I’ve been hard at work studying West Coast fashion.  San Francisco more specifically.  And, well, the trip wasn’t for “studying”, unless by studying you mean, eating/drinking/touring my face off.  And let’s be honest – you don’t.

So while gallivanting between the beautiful bar at the top of the Downtown Marriott and the fabulous Four Seasons (get the chocolate hazelnut dessert…heck, get any dessert!  You will NOT be disappointed!)…

Only Meghan had the foresight to photograph the glory.

we ran into their couture shops.

I haven’t wandered past Prada in NYC since I’ve been back, so I’m not sure if this little number is gracing its window, too, but take a looksie:

For the most part, I like it.  The fabric + the shape = awesome!  The verdict is still out on the black ruffle going across the bottom of the bust, though.  Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

Can that be flattering on anyone?  I have two problems with it:

1)  Where it falls.  Flat, busty, somewhere in between – nobody needs their nipples laid out on a platter, and that’s the effect I think this will have.  Put a little weight on those breasts, they’ll be resting right on that ruffle!

2)  The ruffle faces up.  Odd choice.  It just feels like it’s upside down.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

