Rainy Days Are Good For Something

Hot times, summer in New York City. I love the city in summer. So much going on, so much to do, so much to see. It may be a little hot, but everyone else is sweaty, too. But when you want to be out and about all the time, and also want to spend some QT with your sewing – a decidedly indoor activity – what do you do? Enter rainy day.

I figured a nice walk through the garment district, seeing if anyone had some sales going on, would be a good way to spend part of my afternoon. Unfortunately, a block from work I felt a drop of water. Then another! “Air conditioner drops!  Blech!” I thought to myself. No such luck. I’m standing in the rain, checking The Weather Channel app (which still said 0% chance of rain for another 3 hours) and figure, gotta go home. So I did. And it drizzled on and off all afternoon until the skies finally opened up.

So after scanning Simplicity.com again (still no purchases!) I decided to get down & dirty with the dress I’ve been making to wear to my cousin’s wedding this weekend. The only thing left to conquer: the hem. I tested out the blind hem stitch. A valiant effort for sure, but alas, it was not meant to be. A regular hem it was, but now it is done, and I can stroll to my heart’s content tomorrow.

Photos forthcoming, but I’ll give you a hint: Looks like this.

Leave a Reply

