I can sew that! And that, too!

Each day I make my way through the fabulously fashionable streets of New York as I hurry to and fro.  Up 5th Avenue.  Down Madison.  All around SoHo.

Enter sewing.  Two years ago I was inspired to take on a craft.  A creative outlet, if you will.  At first I couldn’t use a pattern.  What did all of those markings even mean?  But now I’m hooked on them.  Burda and Vogue and Simplicity, oh my!

Now I find my two worlds meshing on a moment-by-moment basis.  Beautiful people wearing beautiful, dreamy outfits cross my path each day and I am starting to understand how inspiration works.

My most amazing realization, though, can be found in those huge glass store windows.  Armani, Prada, Saks, Henri Bendel.  Amazing things.  Things I want.  The things that caused me to take up sewing in the first place-to make the things I can’t afford.  And now, with the patterns I have accumulated, the links I have found, and the tricks I’ve picked up along the way, I’m ready to attempt to master the Masters’ creations.  And maybe, just maybe, I can make them even better…

Join me as I try to conquer couture on my own.

Leave a Reply

